Page 14 - issue_old_1

Basic HTML Version

Al-Halal (The Lawful)
ISLAMIC DIETARY
LAWS AND
PRACTICES
Halal is the Arabic word which, in general,
means "allowed" or "lawful". Most diets and
foods are considered to be Halal unless they are
specified in the Holy Qur'an or Hadith. Human
beings cannot change the unlawful (Haram) into
the lawful (lawful).
It
is also unlawful to make
the Halal into Haram.
AI-Haram (The Unlawful)
Haram is the Arabic word which, in general,
means "prohibited" or unlawful". In Islam,
Haram foods are meant to be unlawful. They
are: pork and its by-products, alcohol, meat of
dead animals, meat of the animals slaughtered in
the name other than The Almighty, blood, any
intoxicating drugs, etc. If a Muslim uses any of
these Haram products, he would be committing
a sin. In some exceptional cases, a Muslim may
use the Haram foods. It is permissible if they
are consumed by mistake or if he
is
in danger.
If
there is no other food available except the
Haram then
it
is permissible to use it to survive
only.
A PARTIAL LIST OF HARAM
INGREDIENTS
Bacon: A side of a pig meat (pork) after removal
of the spare ribs and after being cured dry or
pickled.
Cholesterol: A type of fat always of animal
The Islamic Bulletin
origin.
If
extracted Zabiha animal, it is Halal.
Di-glyceride: Emulsifier.
If
of animal origin it
should be avoided till the animal source is
known.
Gelatin: Usually of animal origin, mostly from
pig. If the gelatin source is plant then it is
Halal.
Glyceryl: It could be from an animal source,
plant or synthetic Glycerol-Stearate origin. If
the source is animal it is Haram.
Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used
for human beings. Find out the source before
passing a judgment.
Lard: Fat from swine, particularly found in the
abdominal cavity. This is totally Haram to be
used.
Mono- Glycerides: If the source is animal origin,
then it is Haram.
Pepsin: A digestive enzyme of the gastric juices
usually extracted from pig's stomach. Absolutely
Haram.
Renin: (Rennet) A protein enzyme used in the
preparation of cheeses for curdling the milk. If
the source is a Zabiha animal then it is Halal.
Animal Shortening: Fat and oils of animal
origin.
Lard Shortening: A purified internal fat from
the abdomen of pig.
Vegetable Shortening: Fat and oils of plant
origin. As long as the word "pure" or "100%"
is not used with vegetable shortening there is no
guarantee that the animal fats are not added to
the extent of 5-15%.
NOTE: Labels do not usually say whether of
animal or plant origin. Inquiries can be made by
simply writing to the food companies.
15
February 1991 / Shaban 1411